New Zionsville – 12/12/07

The Town of Zionsville, those portions of Eagle Township that have not been annexed, and all of Union Township will reorganize under a single Government.

There will be two districts, a town district and a rural district, within the New Zionsville. The differentiating factors between these two districts will be the level of services and ordinances. With two levels of service, we will have at least two taxing rates. There may be more given the HB 1362 requirement that all debt must remain with the government entity that created that debt.

The town district will be a contiguous area, which contains all zoning classifications, except Agriculture and Rural Equestrian, where development served by water and sewer utilities (regardless of source) has occurred. Initially, the town district will consist of properties within the town boundaries on the effective date of the reorganization.

In the future, rural property will be reclassified to town property as follows:

- New developments, which meet the definition, will be brought into the town district as they occur.
- Existing developments, which meet the definition, will be brought in on January 1, two years following the date of reorganization. Thereafter, a biannual review of town/rural service boundaries will be conducted.
- Existing developments, which do not meet the definition but voluntarily wish to have town services, will also be brought into the town district on the next service review date.
- Finally, the new governing council will have the ability to waive the contiguous requirement for large developments where their size allows services to be supplied efficiently despite the separation.

1040199